- Information for Military Personnel and Their Spouses/Domestic Partners
- Suggestion Box!
- Customer Satisfaction Survey
- Become a Disaster Healthcare Volunteer!
- OT Practice Act
- Verify a License
- Join Our Mailing List
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Other Useful Links
- Decisions Pending and Opportunities for Public Participation
- American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA)
- Occupational Therapy Association of California (OTAC)
- National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT)
- Department of Consumer Affairs
Processing time for all applications is 3-4 weeks.
Check NBCOT's calendar to know when your examination score report is available to the Board: Calendar
Exam Candidates must take the exam by 12/19/2015 in order for the Board to receive the score by 12/22/2015.
NBCOT will be closed 12/24/2015 - 1/3/2016 and exam scoring will resume 1/13/2016.
(1) A $50 application fee is required with all applications submitted on or after July 1, 2014.
(2) Applications are reviewed in the order they are received.
Pursuant to section 4112 of Title 16, California Code of Regulations, the Board has thirty (30) days in which to review an application and notify the applicant in writing if any additional information or documentation is necessary to complete the application. However, it normally does not take the Board the entire thirty days to review an application.
Please do not contact the Board for the status of an application until more than three (3) weeks have elapsed since the application was received by the Board. Frequent calls from applicants and employers delay the review/license issuance process.
Once the application is reviewed, the Board will notify the applicant of:
- (1) The additional documentation necessary to complete the review process, or
- (2) The amount of the initial license fees to be paid once the application is approved.
If you have not worked as an OT or an OTA in the occupational therapy field within five years of applying for licensure, you must fulfill one of the requirements listed in section 2570.14 of the California Business and Professions Code. The requirements are (1) completion of forty (40) hours continuing education (or professional development units) within the past two years, or (2) passing the NBCOT examination. If you complete the PDUs, you must submit copies of the certificates of completion with your application.
Once an application has been approved, Board staff will notify the applicant in writing of the amount of the initial license fee. Along with the letter, the applicant will be provided with a Request for Initial OT License form or Request for Initial OTA License form that must be completed and returned to the Board along with the initial license fee. Licenses are issued 3-5 business days after the completed form and proper fees are received. License requests are processed in the order they are received. Applicants can verify that a license has been issued and obtain their license number by logging on to the Board's web site and clicking on the "License Verification" link. Please do not call the Board unless six (6) business days have passed since submitting the completed form and initial license fee.
Your cooperation will expedite the licensing process for all applicants.