# **AGENDA ITEM 8**

REVIEW AND VOTE ON APPROVAL OF THE DECEMBER 14, 2022, TELECONFERENCE BOARD MEETING MINUTES.



# \*\*\*DRAFT\*\*\*

# **BOARD MEETING MINUTES**

# **December 14, 2022**

Board Member(s) Present
Sharon Pavlovich –President
Beata Morcos – Vice President
Lynna Do – Secretary
Richard Bookwalter – Member
Hector Cabrera – Member
Denise Miller –Member

Board Staff Present
Heather Martin – Executive Officer
Jody Quesada Novey – Analyst
Helen Geoffroy – Attorney

# 3:30 pm - Board Meeting

1. Call to order, roll call, establishment of a quorum.

The meeting was called to order at 3:37 p.m., Board Secretary Lynna Do called roll, all members were present. A quorum was established.

2. President's Remarks – Informational only; no Board Action to be taken.

President Sharon Pavlovich greeted all in attendance, thanked them for their participation and wished all a safe holiday season.

3. Board Member Remarks – Informational only; no Board Action to be taken.

Hector Cabrera wished everyone a Merry Christmas.

4. Public Comment Session for items not on the Agenda.

There was no public comment for items not on the agenda.

5. Election of 2023 Board Officers.

President Pavlovich reminded the Board that it was time for the annual election of Board Officers and that the current officers are Sharon Pavlovich – President, Beata Morcos – Vice President, and Lynna Do -Secretary.

Ms. Pavlovich expressed her interest to serve as Board president for her final year as a Board member and then invited the remaining Board members to express their interest in Board officer positions for the 2023 calendar year.

Vice President Beata Morcos and Secretary Lynna Do both expressed their desire to continue to serve in their current officer positions in 2023.

Hector Cabrera did not express interest in an officer position.

Richard Bookwalter commented that he did not wish to be considered for an officer position for 2023 but was supportive of the current slate continuing their service.

Denise Miller expressed her interest in serving as Board President because her last as President was in 2017.

- Lynna Do moved to nominate Denise Miller for Board President, Beata Morcos for Vice President and Lynna Do for Secretary.
- Beata Morcos seconded the motion.

## **Public Comment**

There was no public comment.

# **Board Member Discussion**

Discussion ensued and both presidential candidates offered a summary of the reasons they should be elected.

**Board Member Votes** 

Richard Bookwalter: No Hector Cabrera: No Lynna Do: Yes Denise Miller: Yes

Beata Morcos: Yes Sharon Pavlovich: No **The motion failed.** 

- Richard Bookwalter moved to nominate Sharon Paylovich for Board President.
- Hector Cabrera seconded the motion.

#### **Public Comment**

There was no public comment.

**Board Member Votes** 

Richard Bookwalter: Yes
Hector Cabrera: Yes
Lynna Do: No
Denise Miller: No

Beata Morcos: No Sharon Pavlovich: Yes **The motion failed.** 

Additional discussion took place and Attorney Helen Geoffroy reminded the Board that a majority vote is needed in order for a motion to pass.

- Lynna Do moved to nominate Beata Morcos for Board President.
- Richard Bookwalter seconded the motion

Beata Morcos thanked Ms. Do and Mr. Bookwalter for their consideration but politely declined the nomination.

Attorney Helen Geoffroy stated that the Board would have to continue nominations and voting until a majority vote was reached.

- Lynna Do moved to nominate Denise Miller for Board President.
- Hector Cabrera seconded the motion.

## **Public Comment**

There was no public comment.

#### Board Member Votes

Richard Bookwalter: No Hector Cabrera: Yes Lynna Do: Yes Denise Miller: Yes

Beata Morcos: Yes Sharon Pavlovich: No **The motion passed.** 

- Richard Bookwalter moved to nominate Beata Morcos for Board Vice President.
- Denise Miller seconded the motion.

#### **Public Comment**

There was no public comment.

## Board Member Votes

Richard Bookwalter: Yes
Hector Cabrera: Yes
Lynna Do: Yes
Denise Miller: Yes

Beata Morcos: Yes Sharon Pavlovich: Yes **The motion passed.** 

- Richard Bookwalter moved to nominate Lynna Do for Board Secretary.
- Beata Morcos seconded the motion.

#### **Public Comment**

There was no public comment.

**Board Member Votes** 

Richard Bookwalter: No Hector Cabrera: Yes Lynna Do: Yes Denise Miller: Yes

Beata Morcos: Yes Sharon Pavlovich: No **The motion passed.** 

President Sharon Pavlovich congratulated the incoming Officers elected for 2023 and thanked everyone for their time.

# **CONVENE CLOSED SESSION**

There were no items for Closed Session.

## ADJOURNMENT.

The meeting adjourned at 4:47 pm.