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APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

Limited Permits 
 

Please read the instructions before completing the application.  Although most questions 
are self-explanatory, the information is provided here to assist you in completing certain 
sections.  If you continue to have questions regarding the application, you may contact the 
California Board of Occupational Therapy (Board) at 916-263-2294. 
 
PLEASE NOTE: 
 A $50 application fee payable to CBOT is required with all applications.  
 Applications are reviewed in the order they are received.  
 Pursuant to section 4112 of Title 16, California Code of Regulations, the Board has up to 
thirty (30) days in which to review an application and notify the applicant in writing if any 
additional information or documentation is necessary to complete the application. However, it 
normally does not take the Board the entire thirty days to review an application. 
 Please do not contact the Board for the status of an application until at least two (2) weeks 
have elapsed since the application was submitted. Frequent calls will delay the review process. 
 Once an application has been approved, Board staff will notify the applicant in writing of the 
amount of the fee for the limited permit. Along with the letter, the applicant will be provided with 
a Request for Limited Permit form that must be completed and returned to the Board along with 
the limited permit fee.  The applicant has sixty (60) days from the date of the approval letter to 
submit the limited permit fee. 
 Limited permits are issued 3-5 business days after the completed form and fee are 
received. Limited permit requests are processed in the order they are received.  
 Applicants can verify that a limited permit has been issued by contacting the Board at (916) 
263-2294.  Please do not call the Board unless six (6) business days have passed since 
submitting the completed form and limited permit fee. 
 Pursuant to section 4114 of Title 16, California Code of Regulations, an application for a 
limited permit shall be deemed abandoned and the application fee forfeited if the applicant fails 
to complete the application or submit the required fee within sixty (60) days after it is originally 
received by the board. 
 
Limited Permits:  
 Limited permits are only issued to recent graduates who have completed the academic and 
fieldwork requirements for licensure or certification (as specified in the Occupational Therapy 
Practice Act, section 2570.6) and are waiting to take the National Board for Certification in 
Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) examination or waiting for the results of the examination.  
 The applicant must submit an authorization to test letter (ATT) and the proof of examination 
score transfer report be sent to the Board from NBCOT.  An official transcript is not necessary 
but must be submitted prior to being issued a license. 
 Limited permits are issued only once.  They cannot be renewed or extended under any 
circumstance. 
 The Board must be notified immediately of NBCOT examination results.  At the time of 
application for the NBCOT examination, an Official Score Transfer Request should be 
completed so that NBCOT will release scores to the Board. 
 If the NBCOT examination is not taken and passed prior to the expiration date, the limited 
permit will be cancelled and the fee will be forfeited.  You will not be able to practice 
occupational therapy or assist in the practice of occupational therapy until you pass the 
examination. 

CALIFORNIA BOARD OF OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY 
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 2250, Sacramento, CA 95815-3831 

T: (916) 263-2294  F: (916) 263-2701 
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 Upon verification of a passing NBCOT examination score and receipt of official transcripts, 
the Board will notify you in writing on how to continue with obtaining a license.  It is not 
necessary to submit a new application. 
 All OT and OTA limited permit holders must practice under the supervision of an occupational 
therapist licensed by the Board pursuant to Title 16, California Code of Regulations, Section 
4183. 

 
Section I:  Personal Data: 
 A, B, C.  Provide your full legal name, as you will use it in practice. 
 D.  Other names used (maiden, married, etc., including your legal name if it is different than 
as provided above).  
 F.  Residence Address: You must provide your residence address.  It cannot be a Post Office 
Box.  In accordance with the Information Practices Act of 1977, your residence address may be 
released to the public upon written request.  If you do not want your residence address to be 
available to the public, you must designate an alternate address as your address of record.  
 G.  Address of Record: Your address of record can be a Post Office Box.  All Board 
correspondence including your initial license, renewal notices, renewal licenses/certificates, etc. 
will be sent to this address. 
You must notify the Board, in writing, of any change in your residence address and/or your 
address of record, within 30 days of the change. 

 J.  Disclosure of your Social Security Number (SSN) is mandatory.  Your SSN will be used 
exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, verification of licensure and/or examination status, 
and verification of child support mandates.  It may also be used for reporting to the Health Care 
Integrity and Protection Data Bank.  If you fail to disclose your SSN, you may be reported to the 
Franchise Tax Board, which may assess penalties against you.  You must have a SSN prior to 
issuance of a limited permit, license, or certificate. 
 
Section II:  Current/Previous License, Registration, Certificate: 
If you hold or have ever held a license, registration, or certificate in any health-related 
profession, including occupational therapy, in any state, province, or country, you must request 
a letter of good standing from each of those jurisdictions.  Please have each jurisdiction mail the 
letter of good standing directly to the Board. 
 
Section III:  Education: 
Official transcripts are not required for a limited permit, however, must be submitted prior to 
being issued license.  If your final transcripts reflecting fulfillment of the academic and fieldwork 
requirements are available, please have the program send them directly to the Board.  Diplomas 
are not acceptable forms of documentation.   
 
Section IV:  Examination: 
To receive a limited permit, you must submit an NBCOT authorization to test (ATT) letter.  
Please provide a copy of the ATT letter within this application and the proof of examination 
score transfer report be sent to the Board.  Upon completing the NBCOT examination, you must 
have NBCOT transmit your score directly to the Board. 

Section V:  Work/Experience Verification: 

List the names, addresses and telephone numbers of each of the facilities at which you 
completed your fieldwork and each and every facility at which you have practiced in the field of 
occupational therapy. 

Section VI:  Disciplinary Actions and Criminal History Data: 

Failure to include the information requested in this section will delay the decision of your 
eligibility for a limited permit. 
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 A, B, F, G.  If you have had disciplinary action taken against a professional health care 
license, registration or certificate, and/or been convicted of a crime, please attach:  (1) a 
detailed explanation of the circumstances surrounding each incident; (2) a certified copies of the 
disciplinary order, record of conviction, and police report; (3) proof of completion of probation; 
(4) documentation of your efforts at rehabilitation; and (5) verification that any fine imposed has 
been paid or that current payments are being made. 
 D.  If you have ever been fired, discharged, or had employment terminated for any reason 
from a health-related employer, you must include a detailed explanation of the circumstances. 
 E.  If you have a condition that in any way impairs or limits your ability to practice with 
reasonable skill and safety, please submit a written explanation of the circumstances, official 
inpatient and outpatient treatment records if applicable, and a statement regarding your efforts 
at rehabilitation.  You may be asked by the Board’s Enforcement Unit to provide additional 
pertinent information.  

Section VII:  Fingerprints and Photograph Requirements 

All applicants are required to submit fingerprints for the purpose of conducting criminal 
background checks through the Department of Justice (DOJ) and Federal Bureau of 
Investigation (FBI).  There are two methods available for submitting fingerprints.  The first 
method is by rolling fingerprints on a standard 8” X 8” fingerprint card.  Two cards must be 
submitted, one for the DOJ/FBI and one extra in case there is a problem with the initial 
processing.  The second method is through a process called "Live Scan."  This method 
electronically scans and transmits your digitized fingerprints from the Live Scan site to the DOJ 
and FBI. 
   
The Board highly recommends the Live Scan process, as it is extremely time efficient.  
However, Live Scanning can only be performed in California, and may not be available in some 
parts of the State.  If you are submitting fingerprint cards, please refer to the Fingerprint 
Instructions containing in the out-of-state application package. 
  
INSTRUCTIONS FOR SUBMITTING LIVE SCAN FINGERPRINTS:  
 
Live Scan Procedures: 
 
1. Complete the Board's “Request for Live Scan Service” form BCII 8016 in triplicate. 
2. Take the completed form (in triplicate) to the Live Scan site. There are more than 200 Live Scan 

sites throughout the state. A complete listing of Live Scan sites is available on the DOJ web site 
at http://www.ag.ca.gov/fingerprints/publications/contact.php. You are highly encouraged to call 
the Live Scan site first to determine if an appointment is necessary. 

3. You must pay the $49.00 processing fee and the requested rolling fee (determined by the local 
Live Scan agency) at the Live Scan site. 

4. Once scanned, you should receive two copies of the form signed by the Live Scan operator. 
One copy is for your records. 

5. Attach one copy of the Live Scan form to the application. 
 
2” X 2” PHOTOGRAPH: 
You must submit a 2" x 2" passport quality photograph of yourself taken within the past six 
months.  Be sure that your face is completely visible in the photo.  Please staple the photograph 
directly onto the application in Section VII (b). 
 
Section VIII:  Affidavit: 
Your application must contain your original signature and date. 
 

Do not forget to include the $50 application fee! 


